A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness | Spoiler Free Review

A world of witches, daemons and vampires. A manuscript which holds the secrets of their past and the key to their future. Diana and Matthew – the forbidden love at the heart of it.

When historian Diana Bishop opens an alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, it’s an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordered life. Though Diana is a witch of impeccable lineage, the violent death of her parents while she was still a child convinced her that human fear is more potent than any witchcraft. Now Diana has unwittingly exposed herself to a world she’s kept at bay for years; one of powerful witches, creative, destructive daemons and long-lived vampires. Sensing the significance of Diana’s discovery, the creatures gather in Oxford, among them the enigmatic Matthew Clairmont, a vampire genticist. Diana is inexplicably drawn to Matthew and, in a shadowy world of half-truths and old enmities, ties herself to him without fully understanding the ancient line they are crossing. As they begin to unlock the secrets of the manuscript and their feelings for each other deepen, so the fragile balance of peace unravels…

Continue reading “A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness | Spoiler Free Review”

Happy Book Birthday D.R GRAHAM!

release day.jpg

Happy July 1st everybody, today is an exciting day because it is D.R Graham’s book publication day for Put It Out There!

As you know, I really enjoyed this book and deemed it the ‘next best summer read’. If you missed out on my review click here to check that out. 

britannia beach

Synopsis

The first book in the Britannia Beach series, perfect for fans of Katie McGarry.

‘Did you miss me?’

Returning home to Britannia Beach a year after her life was shattered is bittersweet for Derian Lafleur. Although some things settle back into place, others don’t click like they used to…especially her friendship with Trevor Maverty.

Derian suddenly wishes the boy next door would see her as more than just a kid sister type. She tries to be everything she thinks he’s looking for— bolder, more experienced – but is that who she wants to be?

With the fate of her family’s historic inn on the line and Trevor making life more complicated by the day, Derian struggles to manage her unexpected feelings, and deal with a past she’s not quite ready to leave behind.


Congratulations D.R Graham on the release of your fabulous book, you truly had me hooked and emotional connected with the characters. Your book is more than just a contemporary romance with it’s incorporation of premonitions and your writing style is perfect for fans of both Young Adult and New Adult contemporaries.

I can’t wait to see where this story goes.

 To purchase a copy for yourself check out the following links:

Amazon UK – Only 99p!    |   Amazon US   |   Harper Collins | www.drgrahambooks.com

 

Twilight- Life and Death Anticipated Read

Life and DeathWhat was the first series you read that made you fall in love with reading again?

For me it was Twilight by Stephanie Meyer, in all honesty I was late to the Twilight Party. The first movie had just been brought out and it was so hyped up that I avoided everything to do with it. If everyone around me is talking about something constantly I tend to lose interest even if I’ve not even seen it yet, but once I finally watched the movie and loved it, I was like hey I need to get myself in gear and try out the books. So I did, and I got obsessed with them to the point I was re reading them over and over. So seeing as I’ve been slacking on my blog (blame university) and I missed the 10 year anniversary I thought why not do a Twilight Appreciation sort of post! So today’s post is in honor of Stephenie Meyers New Book Life and Death  which is Twilight re-imagined!

So the premise is that Edward is now Edyth and Bella is now Beau? Stephenie Meyer recieved a lot of criticism for making Bella the original ‘Damsel in distress’ character. Showing her to be this ‘weak lamb’ as in a weak female, which I suppose her shy characteristics may show this, personally when I read Twilight I actually didn’t see this. Bella to me was different sure, she didn’t go with the trends, she wasn’t focused on popularity etc, she found love and she became even stronger. The Twilight series is more than a paranormal love story, to me it was Bella’s journey not only from human to vampire but from girl to woman. She grew as a person.

So Edyth is now the vampire and Beau is human, it’s been said that there is a-lot of character switching, so once you find out who is now who you can fully enjoy the read. I personally haven’t been able to get my hands on a copy yet, therefore this is my most anticipated read for the winter but despite my excitement I’m also not sure what to expect from this new re-imagined version. It could either be really good or a huge flop.

Here’s to hoping it’s really good, I shall get my hands on it soon.

So guys, as always thank you for reading! Let me know in the comments if this is on your anticipated reads, if your a twilight fan or even if you’ve managed to read it what are your thoughts. I would love to hear them.

To keep up to date with Stephenie Meyer’s new books then be sure to check out these useful links:

GoodReads – Stephenie Meyer

www.stepheniemeyer.com

As previously touched upon, I have started back at University now and I am in 2nd year which has been rather difficult so far. It’s definitely been taken up a notch work wise and time wise so I’m struggling with my reading and finding time to blog. But I’m going to carve out some personal time to make sure I keep on top of it. Please add me as a friend on Good Reads or follow me on Instagram to keep up to date with my latest book related posts e.g hauls, upcoming reviews.

Instagram – @hannahreads_x

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet evilSweet Evil by Wendy Higgins is the first book in the Sweet Trilogy which is easily my favorite trilogy I have read this year.

The story follows Anna Whitt, a young southern girl born with a sixth sense of being able to see and and feel other peoples emotions. Adopted at a young age, Anna knows she is different but she doesn’t understand why, nor does she know that she isn’t alone. It isn’t until Anna turns 16 when she meets Kaiden Rowe, a terribly handsome drummer that she learns that there are others somewhat like her and thus begins Anna’s journey to find out her heritage.

Wendy Higgins has created a paranormal world which focuses on a group of teenagers who are sons and daughters of demons, there role in life is to be bad influences. Each teen has their own specialty in which they must work, this aspect of the novel is unlike anything else I have read before therefore to me it is very original as well as being a new and exciting concept.

Additionally to this Wendy Higgins takes on a contemporary writing style through the telling of her novel, one which is easy to consume yourself in and relate with. Although her world is paranormal focused she incorporates so many aspects that are surrounding our everyday world, she incorporates really hardcore subjects such as Sexual Abuse and Sex Trafficking therefore drawing attention to these matters.

I can’t help but give Sweet Evil a 5 star rating, I loved the concept of the novel and I couldn’t put it down. Finding a book I can easily get into, one which I find myself wanting to continue to read and not put down until i’ve finished is what I love about reading and Wendy Higgins brings so many aspects to Sweet Evil that it is a lovely addition to the Young Adult Genre, one which I would highly recommend. Furthermore I particularly enjoyed the Good Girl and Bad Boy relationship between Anna and Kaiden and the constant burning question of Will they or Won’t they we faced in each moment they shared together.

Sweet Evil is the first book in The Sweet Trilogy, which is ultimately a Good VS Evil, Angels VS Demons story. However along the way Higgins incorporates numerous elements to her story including Romance, Religion, Fantasy and Paranormal aspects. I personally fell in love with Kaiden and Anna’s relationship, at first I was a little wary of Anna’s character because I assumed she was going to be this boring religious character who wouldn’t venture from what she knows. But throughout the story as a character she opens up more and more coming to terms with what she is, how her life is going to change as well as how her future will pan out becoming a strong female heroine.

More over, one aspect of the book which I really liked was the Road Trip element, I really enjoyed Kaiden’s and Anna’s moments alone in the car, learning more about Kaiden’s life and Anna’s heritage through his thoughts as well as the way it blossomed their relationship… (the sexual tension is clearly strong).

I sincerely recommend reading Sweet Evil for yourself, in fact if you have read The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare then I believe you may like this book for yourself. They both incorporate so many of the same elements most notably the concept of demons in the world. If you would like to try out Sweet Evil please find the following links which will be useful to you:

Amazon – Sweet Evil

Good Reads – Sweet Evil

Book Depository – Sweet Evil

If you would like to keep up to date with more of my book related posts such as what I am currently reading then please add me as a friend on GoodReads or follow me on my Instagram.