Love & You by Gretchen Gomez

love and you.jpg

Title: Love & You by Gretchen Gomez
Poetry Blurb:

one day i met a guy
who stole my heart,
we created a world
for ourselves.
and another day
he broke my heart
and shattered
my soul.

i took the tattered
pieces of this
broken soul and
became anew.

– here lies the hurting, the healing, and the learning

(please be advised this book has mature content)

Love & You is a poetry collection released this year by Gretchen Gomez. If you don’t know Gretchen then she is a fellow book blogger over on www.chicnerdreads.wordpress.com. Gretchen is one of the first people I became friends with when I joined the Blogging community and she is so kind and lovely. She posts many poems on her blog so be sure to check them out as well as her Book related content. When she announced she was releasing some of her work in a book I was so happy for her and so proud! She is chasing her dreams.

Love & You features so many different themes from love, relationships, heartbreak, healing, rebuilding yourself and more. As I read through the collection I truly felt like Gretchen was baring part of her soul as she told part of her story and life through poetry. As well as this I also felt like I could relate to a few of the poems, some really hit me and that’s one thing which makes me love modern poetry so much. I like being able to connect personally to the words and story being told.

One of my favourites has to be;

i found 
beauty
in my
brokenness

i found
self love
in my
darkness

This one really hit me. Why?
Well for me this spoke to what I’ve been feeling for so long. I often feel like I am broken because of my anxiety and when things are really bad I really have to find the beauty and self-love which Gretchen talks about. When you have anxiety you have to remember to truly love yourself and that can be a really hard journey when you’re questioning everything and unable to do certain things. So this poem was really honest, raw and real for me. It felt like Gretchen knew some of my thoughts and wrote them down for me.

Another favourite of mine is;

the most dangerous
humans are the
women who realize
they don’t need
anyone after facing 
the hurricane alone

This one was one of the poems which felt empowering and inspirating. Yaaay for Girl Power. Every woman needs to realize that they can get through anything on their own, we don’t need a man by our side. We write our own narrative.

Now let’s talk a little about the style and format of this collection of poetry. Gretchen uses a poetry style which I really like, small poems, all lower cases, small sentences and light on punctuation. I really like poems like this because for me it gives a sense that the words are real and less unedited. They are raw emotions written down by the poet and caught without being altered to fit a certain rhyme scheme or format.

 

I would give Love & You 5 stars. I’m very particular about my poetry and I have been looking for another poetry book I could fall in love with since reading Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur and this one was it for me. I have previously tried Lang Leav and those poems were too confined to rhyme for me whereas Love & You truly felt raw and real and the themes they went through was very varied.

My copy of the book is filled with orange tab’s marking my favourite poems from her collection but I won’t reveal any more for you and ruin the whole book so be sure to check it out. Links for purchase can be found below and definitely check out Gretchen’s Blog for more snippets of her work!

stars

SIGN OFF

 

 

 

Goodreads |  www.chicnerdreads.wordpress.com | Gretchen’s Twitter @ChicNerdReads

Amazon US  | Amazon UK

 

 

10 thoughts on “Love & You by Gretchen Gomez

  1. hannah, i am truly speechless! thank you so much and i am so happy you got to connect with my book. wow wow wow! i am so happy we met and that we connected. i love how you interpreted my poems and love reading how they touched you. self-love can be sooooo hard when our minds are not okay but the beauty of darkness is that things like self-love are still there.
    thank you for your constant support! if you want to read more short poetry you can check out:
    we carry the sky by mckayla robbin, the princess saves herself in this one by amanda lovelace, the chaos of longing by k.y. robinson, soft magic. by upile chisala, afterlife by melissa jennings.

    you are an amazing human being and remember that i am always here for you! xo

    Like

    1. I definitely will get those other poets on my list to give a go. Thank you for also being there for me and sharing your words with us all. I am so proud. I wish I could give you a hug but an air one will have to do! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a lovely review, Hannah! I’m not much of a poetry reader but I have heard a bit about that one and I can’t help being curious. Even more now knowing that her poems touched you so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Marie! I was always the same with poetry, I hated reading and studying it in school but I read Rupi Kaur Milk and Honey and she made me fall in love with it again. Modern Poetry is so different, I think if you read her then you might find a love or liking for modern poetry too (I hope) 🙂 Gretchen’s words really hit me and it’s so nice to feel that connection to not only words but someone else too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you lauren! She definitely did, its truly a special gift to be able to make so many people feel such emotions and connections to any creative work but poetry I feel like is so much harder because you have limited words to work with. It felt lovely to read a book and go ‘omg she gets it’ and like I didn’t feel alone?

      Like

Leave a Reply

