November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Title: November 9 by Colleen HooverNovember 9 British Paperback.jpg

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Synopsis:

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

My Thoughts

Colleen Hoover is an auto buy author for me, I love all of her Contemporary Romances because she has this real gift of being able to captivate me into her stories and she always throws something unique in their to make it stand out. November 9 had been sitting on my bookshelf for a while, I don’t know why I never picked it up and quite frankly i’m kicking myself.

November 9 is a 5 star read for me, I had no trouble getting back into Colleen Hoover’s writing style as it is a mixture of being perfectly descriptive and enticing. November 9 follows Fallon and Ben as they meet on November 9 when they are just 18 years old, following an argument with Fallon’s father and a day together, they decide to meet for the next 5 years on the same date. The book is split into the 5 years they meet therefore it is solely focused on the date – November 9. As each date passes they are each a year older with new things going on in their lives and they each offer one another goals for the rest of the year.

I’m not a spoiler sue and I refuse to reveal anything, but the 4th November 9, featured something that I was really not expecting and it packs a punch. Especially if you end up being as emotionally involved as I was by this point. 

In terms of characters, I also really enjoyed Fallon and Ben. Fallon in particular had visible scars, I really liked how Colleen Hoover had incorporated a main female character who has scars and had been through something traumatic as it added a diverse element to the book and also makes the book more realistic. This alone made the book stand out for me as she is sending a message to all the readers to say that we shouldn’t hide behind our scars and we are each beautiful. Fallon starts off with no confidence  due to the burns on her face  but Ben brings her confidence out, as the time progresses we also get to see Fallon progress into a stronger person so their is real character development in this book.

Of course it wouldn’t also be a Colleen Hoover book without some drama going on, am I right?
So of course, the ending came out of nowhere and shocked me. Whilst Fallon has visible scars, Ben  has suffered trauma himself and this is slowly revealed at the end. I really never expected the ending, as the story progresses there is no little clues that could make you guess or have a sneaking suspicion either. It just pops up like BAM, DID YOU KNOW THIS THOUGH?! 

Overall I really enjoyed November 9, there are SO many elements to this book which I loved but most notably it had to be the progression of time and how they grew up together whilst simultaneously were living apart for the other 364 days of the year.I also have to mention that Tate and Miles from Ugly Love are also featured in this book! I did a little fangirl scream when they popped up, because Ugly Love is my absolute favourite of her work.

I can’t wait to see what Colleen Hoover has in store for her next book, of course I will probably cry because of it but it will be worth it.

Let me know in the comments if you’ve read November 9 and what you thought. Also I have been thinking of ways I could make my reviews a little more interesting or if there is a new way to present them, so if you could let me know in the comments of what you like in reviews. Do you like them long and explained, or perhaps in bullet pointed lists or even a mixture? Let me know 🙂 

 


Useful Links

Goodreads – November 9 | Goodreads Author Page – Colleen Hoover | www.colleenhoover.com

18 thoughts on “November 9 by Colleen Hoover

  1. I loved November 9 too but unlike you I predicted what would happen. I didn’t know when it would happen and why did it happen but I knew that it would happen so I wasn’t that surprised about that turn of events. But it still broke my heart. Have you heard Griffin Petterson song for this book?? If not you need to 😀

    Like

    1. Ah did you?! How did I not see it coming, maybe I was blindly rooting for Ben and Fallon so much that I just didn’t want to imagine anything that could not make them work? I haven’t heard that yet, running to go find that as soon as I press enter!

      I’m always an emotional wreck but did you cry at the 4th November 9? I was so crushed!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did but for a long time I thought it couldn’t be because I couldn’t see a way to their relationship work.
        I didn’t cry but to be honest I don’t really cry while reading. I get emotional and heartbroken (that happened in the 4th November 9) but no crying

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m more emotional with movies than books. I didn’t cry readin Me Before You but then I cried like a baby in the movie. I’m pretty sure the same would happen with November 9

        Like

  2. I only read Never, Never so far, and if I loved the story, I was a bit disappointed by the ending. I can’t wait to read more from her though, to really figure out whether I like her stories or not. I love the synopsis of that one, so maybe I’ll try it out next 🙂 I’m so glad to hear you liked it so much, we can really feel it in your review 🙂
    As for your reviewing style, well all I can advice is to try it out!! Bullet points, texts with bold parts,…. and see what you like the most 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wasn’t too keen on Never Never if i’m honest either, I definitely prefer her romance contemporary novels. She adds a unique element to both so I would definitely check those out, Ugly Love is my ultimate favourite. The one where if you looked at my copy you would be like yes definitely the favourite because it’s a little bashed up from being read so much 🙂 Thank you for your tips, for my ACOTAR review I actually tried out a new style on there 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up! |

Leave a Reply

