The Hook Up – Kristen Callihan


Title: The Hook Up 

Genre: New Adult Romance

Rating: 3/3.5 StarsTHE HOOK UP

Summary: GoodReads  Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy right?

Too bad he’s committed to making her break every rule…

Football has been good to Drew. It’s given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there’s one problem: she’s shut him down. Completely.

That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it’s up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she’s truly hooked. It’s a good thing Drew knows all about winning.

Review:

I first came across The Hook Up on Goodreads as I looked through the glorious Listopia’s in search of my next read whilst in the mood for a New Adult Romance. The Hook Up is Book 1 in the Game On series by Kristen Callihan and I found that it often left me wanting more.

Firstly I rather struggled to get into The Hook Up, I felt like it didn’t really pick up pace for me until the second half. This was when I started to feel feelings of excitement as I wanted to read faster to find out what was going to happen next, although despite the lack of fast pace in the beginning I did find her writing easy to digest

The Hook Up follows the similar route of many new adult romances by incorporating an alternative chapter system in terms of point of view. This allows us to see both protagonists thoughts and feelings therefore giving a well rounded story as a whole as the audience isn’t left guessing what the other character may be feeling. Despite the similarity in form The Hook Up does differ in content, the premise of the book is boy meets girl but rather than the storyline following their journey to falling in love it follows our two main characters; Anna and Drew as they establish a physical connection early. The storyline is in fact their journey towards understanding and establishing an actual relationship, of course there are holes in the road along the way to keep thing’s interesting for our couple.

 

As I previously stated, personally for me the second half of the novel picked up in pace and flowed much better. Perhaps because I felt like there was more to the story at this point which added tension to the characters for example Drew’s ‘relationship’ with Anna takes a different turn which establishes feelings of sympathy within the reader. Followed by an unexpected sports injury which offers a build up of tension for the two characters as we question whether there is hope and happiness for them individually or together.

Despite the book lacking flow for me particularly in the beginning I found that I did like Drew and Anna’s relationship especially the humorous elements thrown into their personalities by Kristen. One moment which sticks with me and made me laugh out loud is ‘God, that body. You just know he’s cut. Like a freaking diamond.’ Furthermore I did enjoy how Kristen flipped the stereotypes of gender on its head by having Anna be the emotionally distant partner in the relationship. Kristen also has her own character’s acknowledge this as other students question what Anna might have done wrong based on her language or actions towards Drew or if she wanted too much from him ultimately pushing him away.

Overall Rating 3.5 Stars; I did have an enjoyable experience reading this book –[ towards the middle chapters and on-wards] but i’m unsure if I would go onto reading the others in the series. The next two books are based on other characters which may entice me into giving them a whirl. Let me know your thoughts in the comments, I would love to discuss your experience with this novel.

For more information on The Hook Up visit it’s goodreads page on Goodreads – The Hook Up.

 

Leave a Reply

