Hex Hall – Rachel Hawkins

hex hall.jpg
Hex Hall – Rachel Hawkins 5 STARS

Summary

Sophia isn’t your average teenage girl; she’s a witch and after a love spell gone wrong she finds herself in Hecate Hall. A boarding school for all things magical from werewolves, to fairies and vampires. Hex hall follows Sophia as she journeys to discover more about her true self and her powers, her family history and not to mention to work out who is really behind the mysterious deaths that claimed a girl before her arrival and attempts another whilst she is there. The ‘triad’, 3 goddess like girls wanting to recruit her to their coven and teasing her endlessly don’t help much either. Neither does her growing attraction to the schools resident heart throb.

Review

Going into Hex Hall, I didn’t know what to expect and I was pleasantly surprised. I have never read a Young Adult Novel which focuses on magic like witches before therefore it is unlike anything I have ever read so I have nothing to compare it to. But Hex Hall has all the components of a good Young Adult read including the ever so wonderful aspect of Sophia’s growing attraction to the school’s heart throb Archer. However Archer is in a relationship with a member of the ‘triad’ Elodie, therefore even though Sophia begins to realise her feelings she is conflicted as he isn’t available.

In all honesty, I hated Elodie at first. However by the end of the novel I found myself feeling for her, the ending of the novel was very surprising and something I never saw coming. Which is one of the reasons I had to give Hex Hall a 5 Star rating, I love books that have the ability to shock me, books that are not predictable that I can’t guess the outcome within a first few chapters. Hex Hall is definitely one of them, I found myself on numerous occasions mentally saying ‘what is going on?’.

Hex hall has all the components of a truly enjoyable Young Adult Read, one which I would recommend to any lover of this genre. There is mysterious elements, love elements, a will or wont they relationship mixed up in a magical dystopian world. Rachel’s world draws upon things we can easily identify with; from prom night to school bullies and school beauty queens.

 

For more information/ reviews on this book be sure to check out Good Reads by clicking on the following link Hex Hall – GoodReads.

 

**Please note that Hex hall is part of a trilogy, if you would like me to review the whole trilogy or another book please comment below or message me via good reads!**

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hex Hall – Rachel Hawkins

  1. Interesting! Hex Hall sounds like a fun read. I’m a lover of all things magic-related, so that’s a great addition in my eyes.. 🙂 I have an extremely long TBR list, and unfortunately I don’t read as often as I’d like.. But maybe I’ll give this a try sometime!

    I don’t know if it’d be quite up your alley or not, but I’d highly recommend the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher if you’ve never read those. It’s a contemporary/urban fantasy series about a wizard in modern-day Chicago, who runs into demons and faeries and monsters of all kinds.. Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer, in a way. Fun read with a lot of pop-culture references and humor. 🙂

    Loved this review!

    Eve
    Edge of Night

    Like

    1. I know what you mean, I struggle to keep up with all the new books coming out. I have created a TBR jar for the days I’m struggling to pick a book, I’ll pull a little paper out at random. I will make a note of your recommendation to check it out!

      Like

Leave a comment